The South Savo Social and Health Care Authority (Essote)

We develop social and health care services in seven municipalities (Hirvensalmi, Juva, Kangasniemi, Mikkeli, Mäntyharju, Pertunmaa and Puumala). We also provide special health care services for Pieksämäki and Joroinen. More than 3,800 professionals from different fields are reforming well-being services for the roughly 100,000 residents of South Savo.

Essote’s diverse services

Our well-being centres and stations provide a variety of social and health care services as local services. We can be found at more than a hundred locations across the municipalities within our region. The duties of promoting the well-being of citizens are divided into five areas of responsibility: health care services, services for the elderly and disabled people, family and social services, mental health and substance abuse services as well as rehabilitation.